Voter Information

Absentee Voter Information 

Kentucky registered voters may vote at the precinct on election day or, if eligible, may cast an absentee ballot by mail or in the county clerk’s office prior to election day.  Kentucky law does not provide for early voting or unexcused absentee voting.

Absentee ballots can only be obtained by contacting the County Clerk’s office. 

 

Mail-In Absentee Ballots

Question Who is qualified to vote an absentee ballot?
Answer

To be qualified to vote by mail-in absentee ballot, you   must be:

  • Advanced in age, Disabled, or Ill;
  • Military personnel, their Dependents, or Overseas Citizens (For more information please review the Military and Overseas Page);
  • A student who temporarily resides outside the county;
  • A voter who temporarily resides outside of Kentucky and who maintains eligibility to vote in Kentucky, such as a "snowbird;"
  • Incarcerated, but not yet convicted of a crime; or
  • Employed outside of the county all hours the polling place is open.
.
Question How do I request an absentee ballot?
Answer You or your spouse, parents, or children may contact your County Clerk to request an absentee ballot application by phone, fax, electronic mail,mail, or in person.  The County Clerk will mail you the absentee ballot application or you can get an application in person at the County Clerk’s office.  You can either return the completed application by mail or you can hand-deliver it to the County Clerk’s office. Your spouse, parents, or children, or a third party can not hand deliver your completed application to the county clerk.  
.
Question When can I apply for an absentee ballot?
Answer You can request an absentee ballot any time before an election if you know you are eligible to vote absentee.  The County Clerk will send you a mail-in absentee ballot within 3 days of the state ballot printing deadline, which is 50 days before the election. 
.
Question What is the last day I can apply for an absentee ballot?
Answer The deadline for applying for a mail-in absentee ballot is 7 days before an election.  The completed application must be received by the County Clerk by mail or in person by the 7-day deadline.  The absentee ballot must be received in the County Clerk’s office by 6 PM local time on election day for the ballot to be counted.
.
Question What if I did not receive my mail-in absentee ballot?
Answer If you applied for an absentee ballot and, after a reasonable time, have not received your mail-in ballot, you must contact the County Clerk and ask for a second ballot.  The County Board of Elections will only count the first properly returned voted ballot.
.
Question What if I find out that I will be in the county on election day and want to vote at my precinct?
Answer Any person who has received a mail-in absentee ballot and discovers at least 7 days before the date of the election that he or she will be in the county on election day, and who has not voted the ballot, must cancel his or her ballot by returning it unvoted to the County Clerk’s office. There are no provisions in state law for returning an unvoted ballot less than 7 days before an election or on election day.
.
Question What if I need help filling out my ballot?
Answer A voter may have assistance because of blindness, physical disability, or the inability to read English.  Any person of the voter’s choice may assist the voter, except the voter’s employer or agent of the employer or an officer or agent of the voter’s union.  The person assisting the voter must complete the portion of the voter assistance form on the absentee ballot inner envelope provided by the County Clerk.  The person assisting the voter must make an oath declaring that the assistor marked the ballot under the directions of the voter requiring assistance.

 

Medical Emergency Ballots

You can apply for a medical emergency absentee ballot if a medical emergency occurs within 14 days before an election.  The spouse of the voter can also apply for a paper absentee ballot.

The voter, voter’s spouse, parent or child or, if none exist, then a brother, sister, niece, nephew or designee of the voter may make the request for a medical emergency application for an absentee ballot.  The absentee ballot can be hand-delivered to the voter and this may be done on election day.

 

Voting Machine Absentee Ballots

A voting machine at the County Clerk's office is available 12 (or more) working days before the election for those voters who are qualified to vote by absentee ballot in the County Clerk's office. Contact your County Clerk to find out the hours and dates of absentee voting in your county.

You must fulfill one of the following criteria to be eligible:

  • You will be out of the county on election day
  • You are Military, their Dependents, or an Overseas Citizen (For more information, please review the Military and Overseas Page found on this web site.)
  • You are Military personnel confined to base and learn of your confinement within seven days or less of an election
  • You are a Student or resident who temporarily reside outside of the county
  • You are a voter or the spouse of a voter who has surgery scheduled that will require hospitalization on Election Day
  • You are a pregnant woman in your third trimester

OR

You are the following:

  • Precinct election officer appointed to serve in precinct other than his own
  • Alternate precinct officer
  • County Board of Elections’ members
  • County Board of Elections’ staff
  • Deputy county clerk
  • State Board of Elections’ staff

 

President/Vice President Election

If you change your place of residence to a different state while the registration books are closed in the new state, you can apply for a mail-in absentee ballot or vote on the absentee voting machine only in President/Vice President elections.