Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

State Board of Elections

State Board of Election Members




The State Board of Elections consists of the Secretary of State, who serves as Chair and the chief election official, and six members appointed by the Governor from lists supplied by the two political parties in the Commonwealth. The Board holds regular meetings on the third Tuesday of each month at 1:00 p.m. The current members of the Board are listed below:



Republican Members

Democratic Members

Joshua G. Branscum
Term Expires: 9/15/2018
Albany, KY

Albert B. Chandler, III
Term Expires: 9/15/2018
Versailles, KY 

Michael G. Adams
Term Expires: 4/1/2020
Louisville, KY 

George Russell
Term Expires: 4/1/2020
Frankfort, KY

Stephen Huffman
Term Expires: 9/15/2018
Lexington, KY
Donald W. Blevins
Term Expires: 9/15/2018
Lexington, KY



The Board’s staff consists of an Executive Director, Maryellen Allen, an Assistant Director, Matt Selph, and a bipartisan staff sufficient to carry out its duties, including training officers, Sandy Milburn, and Jerred Robinson. The Board currently has nine staff members.  Click here for a complete list of staff members.


The Board’s Duties:

  • Ensure Kentucky’s compliance with federal election law
  • Ensure Kentucky’s compliance with state election law
  • Provide and maintain the statewide voter registration database
  • Appoint county board of elections members
  • Train county clerks and county board of election members