Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

About Us

State Board of Elections

​​​The State Board of Elections consists of the Secretary of State Michael G. Adams, who serves as the chief election official, and eight members appointed by the Governor from lists supplied by the two political parties in the Commonwealth and the Kentucky County Clerks Association.

The current members of the Board are:

​Democratic Members
Republican Members

​Albert B. Chandler, III
Term expires: 9/15/2026
Woodford County

DeAnna Brangers
Term expires: 4/1/2024
Jefferson County

Term expires: 9/15/2026

Cory Skolnick
Term expires: 9/15/2026
Jefferson County

Jerry D. Johnson
Term expires: 4/1/2024
Franklin County

Sue Carole Perry
Term expires: 9/20/2027
Shelby County

Dwight Sears
Term expires: 9/15/2026
Pulaski County

Julie Griggs
Term expires: 9/20/2027
McCracken County

The Board’s day-to-day operations are carried out by an Executive Director, an Assistant Director and a bipartisan staff sufficient to carry out its duties.
The Board’s Duties:
  • Ensure Kentucky’s compliance with federal election law
  • Ensure Kentucky’s compliance with state election law
  • Provide and maintain the statewide voter registration database
  • Appoint county board of elections members
  • Train county clerks and county board of election members